What is the total Millage rate for the City of Brighton taxpayers?
The most current Millage rate information (2021) is as follows:
Your taxable value x the Millage rate / 1000 = estimated annual property taxes.
What is the Homestead Exemption?
The Homestead Exemption is the result of Proposal A, passed by Michigan voters in 1994. It exempts a property owner from school operating tax, which currently is18.00 mills for Brighton schools. Every property owner in Michigan is allowed one exemption on their principal residence only (a home which is owned and occupied.) A secondary home does not qualify, nor do commercial and industrial properties. Applications are available in the Brighton City Hall, or by calling 810-227-9006.
My title company says I have to file a Property Transfer Affidavit within 45 days of closing, or I may be fined. What exactly is this document?
A Property Transfer Affidavit notifies the assessor’s office that a transfer of ownership has occurred. This is another result of Proposal A, passed by Michigan voters in 1994. Since the passing of Proposal A, the amount a property owner is taxed is limited to an increase not to exceed (5%) or the annual rate of inflation, whichever is less; in other words, the taxable value is “capped.” Once there is a transfer of ownership, that taxable value is “uncapped” and will become the same value as the assessed value in the year following the sale.
How does the assessor arrive at the value on my property?
Each year, the assessor reviews all properties within its jurisdiction to see what changes have taken place through either new construction or demolition. It also reviews recent sales to determine if the assessments fall within 50 percent of true cash value. The assessor's office also uses the cost approach to determine what your home would cost to build at today's prices. It is a combination of all these factors that determine the assessor's value of your property.